African countries

Egypt takes exceptional measures for arrivals from 7 African countries via Omicron

Egypt has changed travel rules as a precautionary measure to limit the spread of the novel coronavirus variant; Omicron and its transmission by travelers.

Egypt has taken several exceptional measures to limit any possibility of the mutated virus reaching Egypt, mainly by taking strict precautionary measures towards countries in which the new Omicron coronavirus is prevalent.

The measures are active especially with the seven African countries (South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia and Eswatini).

In the case of an indirect arrival (transit) through Cairo airport, established procedures for carrying out a rapid DNA test were applied via modern detectors to discover mutated strains of coronavirus.

This is part of the state’s plan to combat the spread of the virus.

Non-Egyptians are not allowed to enter from listed countries subject to Omicron and the airline is obliged to return all positive cases and other positive cases of Egyptians will be transferred to the fever hospital where all cases necessary measures must be taken.

For negative test cases, the traveler performs self-quarantine at home for a period of 7 days and continues to be monitored for another seven days by the quarantine team until the maximum period ends virus incubation.

A PCR test is carried out at the end of the quarantine period, provided that the airlines are informed of the procedures in particular with regard to the need for the passenger to sign an acceptance form which stipulates the self-quarantine procedures before boarding the plane.