African countries

Emirates airline suspends travel from more African countries as a precaution against Covid-19

Emirates on Tuesday suspended the entry of travelers from several African destinations until further notice.

The airline said passengers on direct and transit flights from Angola and Guinea will not be allowed to travel to Dubai from December 28.

Six other African countries are also on this list from this date and they are Kenya; Tanzania; Uganda; Ghana; Ivory Coast and Ethiopia.

Passenger operations from Dubai to these destinations are not affected.

Emirates has offered guidance to those affected by the new rules.

“Affected customers do not need to call us immediately for a rebooking. Customers can simply keep their Emirates ticket and when flights resume, contact their travel agent or reservations office to make new travel plans.” , Emirates said.

“Emirates regrets any inconvenience caused.

“In order to receive the latest updates on their flights, customers are also advised to ensure their contact details are up to date by visiting Manage your booking.”

The move is the latest restriction on global travel aimed at limiting the spread of Covid-19, particularly in light of the emergence of the Omicron variant.

Covid-19 screening at Dubai airport – in pictures

The United Arab Emirates on Thursday suspended the entry of passengers from Kenya, Tanzania, Ethiopia and Nigeria.

The ban came into effect from 7.30am on Christmas Day.

Updated: December 28, 2021, 4:41 p.m.