African countries

Tanzania signs agreements with three African countries for the teaching of Kiswahili

University of Dar Es Salaam

Tanzania’s public University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM) has signed agreements with three higher education institutions in three African countries for the teaching of Kiswahili, a cabinet minister told parliament on Monday.

Culture, Arts and Sports Minister Mohammed Mchengerwa said UDSM has signed agreements with Joachim Chissano University in Mozambique, Port Harcourt University in Nigeria and Addis University -Abeba in Ethiopia for teaching Kiswahili.

“The signing of the agreements to teach Kiswahili at these universities follows the adoption of Kiswahili as an official working language by the African Union,” Mchengerwa said when filing his ministry’s budget estimates for the fiscal year 2022/ 2023 in the House in Dodoma, the capital of Tanzania.

Kiswahili has already been adopted as an official working language by the East African Community (EAC) and the Southern African Development Community (SADC), Mchengerwa said, adding that 1,130 Kiswahili teachers have been assigned to teach the language in a number of foreign countries including South Africa, Uganda, Poland, Germany and the UK.

Kiswahili is the official language of Tanzania spoken by almost all Tanzanians and is also considered a unifying language in the country of over 60 million people.

In November 2021, UNESCO declared July 7 of each year as World Kiswahili Language Day. Final article

Send your news to [email protected] and via WhatsApp to +233 244244807
Follow Ghana News on Google New